IIM Mumbai vs IIT Bombay SJMSOM: Two Powai CAT Doors, Rs 9.4 Lakh Apart
IIM Mumbai vs IIT Bombay's SJMSOM for MBA 2027: both CAT-only merit doors in Powai — Rs 25.00 lakh vs Rs 15,55,800 total, and SJMSOM waives tuition fully for SC/ST/PwD. Official pages compared today.
The short answer
As of 27 September 2026, IIM Mumbai and IIT Bombay's SJMSOM are Powai's two CAT-only merit doors: IIM Mumbai's gross two-year fee is Rs 25.00 lakh plus a Rs 50,000 refundable deposit, while SJMSOM prints Rs 15,55,800 for the 2026-28 batch — and Rs 7,55,800 for SC/ST/PwD, whose tuition is waived entirely. Both official pages were opened today.
Mumbai’s two most selective MBA campuses sit in the same Powai neighbourhood, draw on the same CAT score, and price the same two years Rs 9,44,200 apart. IIM Mumbai’s gross fee is Rs 25.00 lakh; IIT Bombay’s SJMSOM prints Rs 15,55,800 — and half that for SC/ST/PwD students. This page maps the decision from both institutes’ official pages, opened on 27 September 2026.
The door: CAT-only at both, one steeper bar
Both MBAs admit through CAT followed by each school’s own selection stages — there is no second entrance and no quota door at either. The printed academic bars differ: IIM Mumbai’s admissions page, rendered today, asks 50% in graduation (45% for SC/ST/PwD); SJMSOM’s brochure asks 60% (55% for SC/ST/PwD), or a CPI of 6.5 out of 10 — the steeper floor, and a filter worth checking before you count either school into your list.
Two honest disclosures belong here. First, IIM Mumbai’s domestic admissions section still displays the completed Admission-2025 cycle on CAT-2024 — the 2027-29 domestic calendar was not printed on the page we opened today, though the page does print its standing structure, the Rs 2,000/1,000 application fee, and the international-candidate floors (CAT 85 percentile, GMAT 700 with IR 5-plus, GRE 310, test-centre scores only). Second, its separate MBA-through-GMAT track is marked closed — the last date was 31 March 2026. For the 2027 intake, CAT 2026 is the door at both, and its registration closed on 15 September 2026.
The money: the Rs 9.4 lakh gap, and the waiver that doubles it
IIM Mumbai’s fee structure lives behind a JavaScript modal on the admissions page — rendered today in a real browser, it prints: gross programme fee Rs 25.00 lakh for the two-year programme, plus a refundable Caution Money Deposit of Rs 50,000, with mess charges and the mess deposit separate and payable one year in advance.
SJMSOM’s tuition page prints the full arithmetic for 2026-28: Rs 15,55,800 total for General/EWS/OBC-NCL — Rs 3,82,450 a semester with every component itemised — against Rs 7,55,800 for SC/ST/PwD students, for whom the Rs 2,00,000-per-semester tuition is waived entirely. Admission fees are Rs 16,000, refundable deposits Rs 10,000, hostel and mess Rs 47,250 a semester cycle if availed, and the offer-acceptance deposit is Rs 4,28,700 (Rs 4,55,700 with the mess advance). The previous batch’s total, Rs 15,15,500, stands printed beside it — a Rs 40,300 one-year climb.
For an SC/ST/PwD candidate the comparison stops being close: Rs 25 lakh against Rs 7.56 lakh is a 3.3x multiple, the widest printed category gap we have mapped between two schools in the same city.
The outcomes: two printed blocks, one disclosed gap
IIM Mumbai’s MBA programme brochure (brochure-2026.pdf), read from the rendered scan today, prints its placement block in large type: highest CTC Rs 54.00 lakh, average CTC Rs 30.11 lakh, highest international AED 1,38,000, 198 companies — with the sector split led by consulting at 23% and manufacturing at 17%. The page does not state which batch the block describes; we print it as the institute’s current brochure figure and say so.
SJMSOM’s brochure prints its latest final placement table with the batch named: 2022-24 — highest Rs 53.8 lakh, average Rs 25.82 lakh, median Rs 25.25 lakh, average female CTC Rs 29.31 lakh, a 37% PPO rate and 52 recruiting companies, 27% of them new. The figures are one cycle older and one disclosure more honest. Read both with our placement-report methodology.
The quota question, answered by absence
Neither institute prints any management, institute-level, NRI or donation route — government schools simply do not carry the concept on their admissions pages, and the only priced concession anywhere in today’s documents is SJMSOM’s lawful SC/ST/PwD tuition waiver. For the searcher typing “IIM Mumbai management quota” or “IIT Bombay MBA direct admission”, the absence is the answer: CAT, the printed bar, the printed fee — nothing else exists to buy. Our Mumbai city guide maps which schools in the city do print institute-level routes, and which never will.
How to choose
If both shortlists call, the decision is brand-versus-arithmetic: IIM Mumbai carries the IIM charter and the bigger printed placement machine at Rs 25 lakh; SJMSOM answers with Rs 9.4 lakh back in your pocket, the IIT ecosystem, and placement medians within shouting distance of the IIM’s brochure block. If only one calls, the decision is made — both are outcomes a family can defend. And if you hold an SC/ST/PwD certificate, SJMSOM’s waiver makes it the single cheapest elite MBA door we have verified anywhere: Rs 7,55,800 for two years in Powai.
How Udaan helps
From first question to final admission.
- 01
Free, honest first read
Share scores, category and budget on WhatsApp; a counsellor tells you which routes are genuinely open — including when the honest answer is none.
- 02
A shortlist with reasons
Colleges that fit the profile, each with the published fee, the real admission route and what it takes to convert.
- 03
Guided to the seat
Applications, documents, selection rounds and counselling dates handled step by step, up to enrolment.
Udaan is an independent practice: no partner colleges, no commissions from any institute we recommend, and every fee is paid to the college directly — never to us.
WhatsApp a counsellorStraight answers
- Which is better, IIM Mumbai or IIT Bombay SJMSOM?
- Both are CAT-only, Powai-based, operations-heritage schools, and the printed outcomes are close: IIM Mumbai's current brochure prints an average CTC of Rs 30.11 lakh, while SJMSOM's latest published final placements (batch 2022-24) print Rs 25.82 lakh. The fees are not close: Rs 25.00 lakh gross against Rs 15,55,800 — a Rs 9.4 lakh gap — and SJMSOM waives tuition entirely for SC/ST/PwD students. Pick IIM Mumbai for the IIM brand and the bigger placement machine; pick SJMSOM for the fee arithmetic and the IIT ecosystem.
- Is there a management quota at IIM Mumbai or IIT Bombay SJMSOM?
- No route of that kind is printed anywhere at either institute — both are government institutions admitting through CAT and their own published selection stages, and the concept of a paid quota seat does not exist on either school's pages. SJMSOM's fee page does print one lawful concession: SC/ST/PwD students pay zero tuition, which halves the total to Rs 7,55,800. Anyone selling a seat at either institute is describing something the institutes themselves do not print.
- What is the fee difference between IIM Mumbai and SJMSOM?
- IIM Mumbai's fee modal, rendered today, prints a gross programme fee of Rs 25.00 lakh for the two-year MBA plus a refundable caution deposit of Rs 50,000, with mess charges separate and payable a year in advance. SJMSOM's tuition page prints Rs 15,55,800 all-in for 2026-28 General/EWS/OBC-NCL — Rs 3,82,450 a semester including every component — with hostel and mess at Rs 47,250 a semester cycle if availed. The printed gap is Rs 9,44,200 before residence costs.
- What CAT percentile and academics do I need?
- Neither school prints a domestic CAT cutoff number on the pages opened today — IIM Mumbai's international floor is the only printed bar (85 percentile, test-centre scores only) — so treat aggregator percentiles as estimates. The academic bars do print: IIM Mumbai asks 50% in graduation (45% for SC/ST/PwD); SJMSOM asks 60% (55% for SC/ST/PwD) or a CPI of 6.5 out of 10 — the steeper floor of the two, printed in its brochure.
- Can I apply to IIM Mumbai or SJMSOM for 2027 without CAT 2026?
- No. Both MBA programmes admit on CAT, and CAT 2026 registration closed on 15 September 2026. IIM Mumbai additionally ran a GMAT track for the previous cycle, which its own page now marks closed (the last date was 31 March 2026). If you hold a CAT 2026 registration, watch both portals for their 2027-29 forms; without one, the honest door is CAT 2027 or the other exams on our missed-CAT map.
- How do placements compare between IIM Mumbai and SJMSOM?
- IIM Mumbai's current programme brochure prints highest CTC Rs 54.00 lakh, average Rs 30.11 lakh, highest international AED 1,38,000, with 198 companies — the page does not state the batch year, which we disclose rather than guess. SJMSOM's brochure prints its latest published finals for the batch of 2022-24: highest Rs 53.8 lakh, average Rs 25.82 lakh, median Rs 25.25 lakh, average female CTC Rs 29.31 lakh, a 37% PPO rate and 52 recruiting companies, 27% of them new. Ask IIM Mumbai which batch its brochure block describes before relying on it.
Sources
- IIM Mumbai official admissions page (fee modal: Rs 25.00 lakh gross + Rs 50,000 caution; 50%/45% bar; application Rs 2,000/1,000; international floors; GMAT track closed) — rendered 27 September 2026 ↗
- IIM Mumbai MBA programme brochure 2026 (placement block: highest Rs 54.00L, average Rs 30.11L, 198 companies; batch unstated) — scan read 27 September 2026 ↗
- SJMSOM IIT Bombay official tuition and fees page (2026-28: Rs 15,55,800 Gen/EWS/OBC-NCL, Rs 7,55,800 SC/ST/PwD, semester table, hostel-mess Rs 47,250) — opened 27 September 2026 ↗
- SJMSOM IIT Bombay MBA brochure (60%/55% eligibility bar; batch-2022-24 finals: average Rs 25.82L, median Rs 25.25L, 37% PPO, 52 companies) — opened 27 September 2026 ↗
Page updated 27 September 2026. Rules, fees and dates change; confirm with the institution and the official authority before acting.